The University of Arizona ICMA chapter was founded in 2017 as a student affiliate of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA).

Our purpose is to connect students who have an interest in local government to networking and professional development opportunities.  We do this through sponsoring student attendance as state, regional, and national conferences; partnering with local municipalities for experiential opportunties; and hosting events where students can connect with the community.

In 2019, UA ICMA won 2nd place in the ICMA Best Chapter Event contest.  We were recognized for our efforts in co-hosting Ignite 520 with Tucson Young Professionals.  We will be working with them on the same event this year.

2023-2024 Student Board:

Krista Devlin, President

Sarah Denman, Vice-President

Lukas Holmberg, Treasurer

Houston Engelke, Communications Chair

Ray Friedlander, Recruitment Chair


Benefits of Membership

  • Access to job ads in the weekly Leadership Matters Newsletter and in the ICMA Job Center
  • Free complementary subscription to ICMA webinars
  • An online subscripton to Public Management Magazine
  • Access to the members-only online discussion groups: ICMA Connect
  • Membership in the ICMA Student Chapters Facbeook group

Work with us!

We love SGPP Alumni!  There are a number of ways for alumni to support the UA ICMA chapter.  These include:

  • Donations
  • Sponsorships
  • Internship/shadowing opportunities
  • Volunteer opportunities
  • Alumni Board
  • Mentorship


Contact us at if you would like to support or join the UA ICMA Chapter!

Facebook: UA ICMA Chapter

Instagram: uarizona_icma



Previous Board Members:

President: Amanda Bruno (2019-2020), Melissa Mata (2020-2022), Bethany Kasprzyk (2022-2023)

Vice-President: Jeremy Thompson (2019-2020), Leila Castro (2020), Stephanie Soto (2021-2022)

Treasurer: Mackenzie Letcher (2019-2020); Robbie Habtetsion (2020-2021), Bethany Kasprzyk (2021-2022)

Communications Chair: Niya Tawachi (2019-2020), Paki Rico (2020-2022), Krista Devlin (2022-2023)

Recruitment Chair: Angel Galindo (2019-2020), Stephanie Soto (2020), Leila Castro (2021), Laureana Jones (2022-2023)